ARC Review: Gallant by V. E. Schwab

Summary // Everything casts a shadow. Even the world we live in. And as with every shadow, there is a place where it must touch. A seam, where the shadow meets its source.

Olivia Prior has grown up in Merilance School for girls, and all she has of her past is her mother’s journal—which seems to unravel into madness. Then, a letter invites Olivia to come home—to Gallant. Yet when Olivia arrives, no one is expecting her. But Olivia is not about to leave the first place that feels like home, it doesn’t matter if her cousin Matthew is hostile or if she sees half-formed ghouls haunting the hallways.

Olivia knows that Gallant is hiding secrets, and she is determined to uncover them. When she crosses a ruined wall at just the right moment, Olivia finds herself in a place that is Gallant—but not. The manor is crumbling, the ghouls are solid, and a mysterious figure rules over all. Now Olivia sees what has unraveled generations of her family, and where her father may have come from.

Olivia has always wanted to belong somewhere, but will she take her place as a Prior, protecting our world against the Master of the House? Or will she take her place beside him?

Continue reading “ARC Review: Gallant by V. E. Schwab”

My Most Anticipated Releases of 2022: January – March

Today I’m bringing you 12 of my anticipated releases for 2022! Last year I tried a more comprehensive format, encompassing six months’ worth of new releases with a focus on the ones I was most likely to read. However, I missed so many gems that I only discovered much later on! This time I decided to limit it to a 3-month period – and not only focus on the ones that are at the top of my tbr like sequels, but also the ones that I’m most curious about and are on my radar, if not in my actual GR tbr. This year is looking really good for new books hitting the shelves!

I’m also trying to use notion more this year to keep track of my new releases, arcs to be read, among other things that I had trouble keeping organized last year so hopefully, this year won’t be such a mess for me…

Note: if one of the short summaries sounds boring, you guys should really check out the official synopsis because it’s hard summarizing a book in two or three sentence! I just wanted to give you a general idea of what the book is about…

Continue reading “My Most Anticipated Releases of 2022: January – March”

ARC Review: The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea by Axie Oh

Synopsis: Deadly storms have ravaged Mina’s homeland for generations. Floods sweep away entire villages, while bloody wars are waged over the few remaining resources. Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curses them with death and despair. In an attempt to appease him, each year a beautiful maiden is thrown into the sea to serve as the Sea God’s bride, in the hopes that one day the “true bride” will be chosen and end the suffering.

Many believe that Shim Cheong, the most beautiful girl in the village—and the beloved of Mina’s older brother Joon—may be the legendary true bride. But on the night Cheong is to be sacrificed, Joon follows Cheong out to sea, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence. To save her brother, Mina throws herself into the water in Cheong’s stead.

Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, Mina seeks out the Sea God, only to find him caught in an enchanted sleep. With the help of a mysterious young man named Shin—as well as a motley crew of demons, gods, and spirits—Mina sets out to wake the Sea God and bring an end to the killer storms once and for all.

But she doesn’t have much time: A human cannot live long in the land of the spirits. And there are those who would do anything to keep the Sea God from waking…

Continue reading “ARC Review: The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea by Axie Oh”

Double Review: Skyward & Starsight by Brandon Sanderson

Now that I’m reading Cytonic (a.k.a. Skyward #3), I thought it was finally time to review these books! This is one of the few scifi series I whole-heartedly enjoy (and maybe even love?) and I just think more people need to read it! *Don’t let the Brandon Sanderson hype get you down, it’s completely different from his other books!

Continue reading “Double Review: Skyward & Starsight by Brandon Sanderson”

[Book Tour] Get You the Moon by Hasnita Singh – Review + Songs to Listen to While Reading

Today’s my tour stop in the blog tour for Get You the Moon by Hasnita Singh! This tour is being hosted by Turn the Page Tours and it will run from October 30th to November 6th and you can find the tour schedule here.


Get You the Moon
by Hasnita Singh
Published by Cherry Publishing
Released on July 16th, 2021
YOUNG ADULT FICTION—Coming-of-age, Contemporary, Romance

Synopsis:

All Scarlet Bridge wants is to get through her last year of school, overcome her brother’s shadowy legacy, and win the prized scholarship for college. She’s not about to let anyone stand in her way, not even everyone’s favorite Golden Boy, Levi Henare.

Levi loves rugby, his family, and teasing Scarlet Bridge. With a tough family situation at home, he has his own reasons for excelling both academically and on the sports field.

When Scarlet accidentally dials Levi’s phone number, a chain of events that neither expected is set into motion.Thrown together by a twist of fate, will they come to understand and appreciate each other, and themselves or are they destined to remain at daggers drawn forever?

Continue reading “[Book Tour] Get You the Moon by Hasnita Singh – Review + Songs to Listen to While Reading”

The Best YA Fantasy Novels I Read this Year

I think writing this post made me realize just how much my reading taste is moving away from YA, which isn’t to say I haven’t read some bad YA this year, either. These are the ones that I enjoyed the most this year and that I always recommend whenever I can, so I figured it was time to share them here with you guys too!

Continue reading “The Best YA Fantasy Novels I Read this Year”

Review: Clique Bait by Ann Valett

Goodreads // Chloe Whittaker is out for revenge.

Last year her best friend Monica’s life was unceremoniously ruined by the most popular students at their high school, so this year Chloe plans to take each and every one of them down. She’s traded in her jeans and T-shirts for the latest designer clothes, erased anything on social media that would tie her to Monica (and blow her cover), and carefully figured out how she will befriend the members of the clique, find out their deepest and darkest secrets, and reveal them to the world.

Chloe has the perfect plan . . . but there’s one thing she didn’t prepare for. And that’s falling for someone she’s determined to destroy. The closer she gets to uncovering the secrets the in-crowd is determined to cover up, the more she realizes that she is going to have to choose between betraying her oldest friend or the boy who’s captured her heart.

Continue reading “Review: Clique Bait by Ann Valett”

[Book Spotlight] The Right Side of Reckless by Whitney D. Grandison

  • Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
  • Publishing Date: July 13, 2021
  • Goodreads

Synopsis:

He’s never met a rule he didn’t break… She’s followed the rules her whole life… When they meet, one golden rule is established: stay away. Sparks fly in this edgy own voices novel, perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon, S. K. Ali, and Kristina Forest.

They were supposed to ignore each other and respect that fine line between them…

Guillermo Lozano is getting a fresh start. New town, new school, and no more reckless behavior. He’s done his time, and now he needs to right his wrongs. But when his work at the local community center throws him into the path of the one girl who is off-limits, friendship sparks…and maybe more.

Regan London needs a fresh perspective. The pressure to stay in her “perfect” relationship and be the good girl all the time has worn her down. But when the walls start to cave in and she finds unexpected understanding from the boy her parents warned about, she can’t ignore her feelings anymore.

The disapproval is instant. Being together might just get Guillermo sent away. But when it comes to the heart, sometimes you have to break the rules and be a little bit reckless…

Continue reading “[Book Spotlight] The Right Side of Reckless by Whitney D. Grandison”

ARC Review: Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

Goodreads: Shiori, the only princess of Kiata, has a secret. Forbidden magic runs through her veins. Normally she conceals it well, but on the morning of her betrothal ceremony, Shiori loses control. At first, her mistake seems like a stroke of luck, forestalling the wedding she never wanted, but it also catches the attention of Raikama, her stepmother.

Raikama has dark magic of her own, and she banishes the young princess, turning her brothers into cranes, and warning Shiori that she must speak of it to no one: for with every word that escapes her lips, one of her brothers will die.

Penniless, voiceless, and alone, Shiori searches for her brothers, and, on her journey, uncovers a conspiracy to overtake the throne—a conspiracy more twisted and deceitful, more cunning and complex, than even Raikama’s betrayal. Only Shiori can set the kingdom to rights, but to do so she must place her trust in the very boy she fought so hard not to marry. And she must embrace the magic she’s been taught all her life to contain—no matter what it costs her.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim”

[Book Spotlight] Eat Your Heart Out by Kelly deVos

  • Genre: Young Adult Horror
  • Publishing date: June 29th, 2021
  • Goodreads

Synopsis:

Shaun of the Dead meets Dumplin’ in this bitingly funny YA thriller about a kickass group of teens battling a ravenous group of zombies. 
 
In the next few hours, one of three things will happen. 
 
1–We’ll be rescued (unlikely) 
 

2–We’ll freeze to death (maybe) 
 
3–We’ll be eaten by thin and athletic zombies (odds: excellent) 

Vivian Ellenshaw is fat, but she knows she doesn’t need to lose weight, so she’s none too happy to find herself forced into a weight-loss camp’s van with her ex-best friend, Allie, a meathead jock who can barely drive, and the camp owner’s snobby son. And when they arrive at Camp Featherlite at the start of the worst blizzard in the history of Flagstaff, Arizona, it’s clear that something isn’t right. 

Vee barely has a chance to meet the other members of her pod, all who seem as unhappy to be at Featherlite as she does, when a camper goes missing down by the lake. Then she spots something horrifying outside in the snow. Something…that isn’t human. Plus, the camp’s supposed “miracle cure” for obesity just seems fishy, and Vee and her fellow campers know they don’t need to be cured. Of anything. 

Even worse, it’s not long before Camp Featherlite’s luxurious bungalows are totally overrun with zombies. What starts out as a mission to unravel the camp’s secrets turns into a desperate fight for survival–and not all of the Featherlite campers will make it out alive. 

Continue reading “[Book Spotlight] Eat Your Heart Out by Kelly deVos”